Telefilm Canada New Voices Award

The Toronto Screenwriting Conference (TSC) in partnership with Telefilm Canada are excited to announce this year’s recipients of the Telefilm Canada New Voices Award. The initiative awards up to five emerging screenwriters from across Canada the opportunity to attend the annual Toronto Screenwriting Conference (May 4-5, 2019), and to meet with Telefilm Canada executives, Glenn Cockburn (Founder of the TSC and President of Meridian Artists Literary Agency), members of the TSC Advisory Committee (leading Canadian professionals), and invited TSC Speakers. 

The emerging screenwriters were selected from a pool of over 120 applicants Canada-wide.

Congratulations to our 2019 honourees:

2019 Award Winners

Darren Anthony

Darren Anthony


Darren Anthony is a playwright and screenwriter based in Toronto. In 2009 his first critically acclaimed play, Secrets of Black Boy, launched with a sold out run at the Music Hall. After touring the play around the United States, its final run was presented on the main stage at Theatre Passe Muraille in 2016. Darren’s film and TV projects focus on the Caribbean-Canadian culture here in Toronto and aims to shed light on themes of mental health, toxic masculinity and sexuality. Darren’s current project is a family comedy television show, DWAYNE HAS ISSUES, and it chronicles the adventures of a newly emigrated fourteen-year-old boy who struggles with both raging anxiety and teenage hormones as he strives to acclimate himself to his new Canadian life. Darren is also currently working to adapt SECRETS OF A BLACK BOY into a feature film.

Tony Faria

Tony Faria


Tony Faria is a twenty-five-year old Guyanese-Portuguese emerging writer living in downtown Toronto. His parents had him at seventeen in Scarborough, Ontario and worked long hours to keep their lives together below the poverty line. Tony was a latchkey kid who took his first story writing classes in night school at fifteen. He idolized comedians and screenwriters. He was the first in his family to graduate from high-school and then graduated with honours from Sheridan College’s Media Arts with a focus in screenwriting and editing. Tony has since performed stand-up comedy in the GTA, studied improv, taken storytelling classes, completed vocal lessons and worked as a distribution coordinator with clients such as Disney, HBO and MGM. He is a highly disciplined writer whose daily mission is to sow seeds for the future by confronting the unknown and working out new material. Tony is here to secure representation and to contribute as a new voice in TV. He has a devotion to learning and a fascination for magic realism, tragedy and comedy that will both surprise and delight readers.

Lauren Greenwood

Lauren Greenwood


Lauren Greenwood is a Toronto-based screenwriter, playwright and comedian. Her first short, RED BALLOON, is currently in pre-production. Lauren’s one act play An Atlas, A Necktie & Other Concerns, which also represents her directorial debut, is premiering at the Scripted Toronto Festival and will enjoy a run at the Tarragon Theatre Mainspace as part of the 2019 Toronto Fringe Festival. Lauren produces and hosts the bimonthly comedy show, Send Noobs, that features new talent with a focus on women, POC and LGBTQ+ performers. She is also currently a member of the Second City Conservatory Program. Lauren holds an honours BA in English and German, an MFA in Screenwriting, and is a proud member of the Playwrights Guild of Canada.

Jennifer Irons

Jennifer Irons


Jennifer is a Toronto-based writer and producer who studied at Act One film school in Hollywood, California. In 2018 she received the Toronto Screenwriting Breakthrough Artist Award, and the coveted Meridian Artists Agency Mentorship. Jennifer’s recent short, OPPORTUNE, screened at the 2019 Toronto Black Film Festival. A three-time Emmy-winning director in Los Angeles, hired Jennifer to write the dramatic feature, INTOLERANCE, currently in post-production. Jennifer has written and produced several projects that include shorts, a digital series YouTube pilot and a Doritos spec commercial that appeared in a Doritos promotional video. Jennifer is currently developing two dramas: a coming-of-age feature film, and a virtual reality short. She has written several television spec scripts, as well as pilots and show bibles for her original television series concepts. Jennifer looks forward to a successful career in television and film, and is an active member of Women in Film & Television Toronto (WIFT-T).

James Stewart

James Stewart


James Stewart is a writer/director best known for his multi-award winning short film FOXED! which has over 20 million views and opened #1 on iTunes. His gothic tragedy DAILY BATTLES has screened around the world at art galleries and film festivals. James’ historical drama series CHATEAU LAURIER was nominated for both the 2019 CSA and WGC awards. In addition, James has directed numerous commercials, and VR projects. His first feature-length screenplay FOXED! has won three major competitions – Script Pipeline, StoryPros and the Hamilton Film Festival. It was also Top 10 in both the Drama and Sci-fi categories at the 2017 Austin Film Festival. FOXED is a fantasy adventure about coexistence, inclusivity, and oppression. The screenplay was also shortlisted for the 2019 Sundance Screenwriters Lab. His 3D work on Werner Herzog’s CAVE OF FORGOTTEN DREAMS won a Lumière Award and was described by The Guardian as “the reinvention of the cinema medium.” A TED speaker and East Timor advocate, James has twice been awarded for his work supporting PTSD awareness among first responders. His first short film TEEN, a story of childhood sexual abuse, won the audience award at the Belfast Children’s Film Festival.

Past Winners

2018 Telefilm New Voices Winners

Davida Aronovitch (Toronto)
Michael Hanley (Toronto)
Erin Hug (Toronto)
Kim Morrison (Toronto)
Lisa Rose Snow (Toronto)

2017 Telefilm New Voices Winners

Brandon Ash-Mohammed (Toronto)
Reem Morsi (Toronto)
JJ Neepin (Winnipeg)
Thomas Pepper (Toronto)
Adam Perry (Charlottetown)
Kenny Wong (Montreal)

2016 Telefilm New Voices Winners

Marie Dame (Toronto)
Ana De Lara (Vancouver)
Rebecca Hales (Vancouver)
Kim Izzo (Toronto)
John Ward (Vancouver)

2015 Telefilm New Voices Winners

Dennis Allen (Lethbridge)
Keith Davidson (Toronto)
Tommy Gushue (Toronto)
Vivian Lin (Toronto)
Carly Stone (Vancouver)

2014 Telefilm New Voices Winners

Jon Wayne Brown (St. John’s)
Katherine Di Marino (Toronto)
Elene Mekete (Toronto)
Lea Nakonechny (Montreal)
Ashley Park (Toronto)

2013 Telefilm New Voices Winners

Gloria Ui Young Kim (Toronto)
Margaret Rose Lester (Mississauga)
Maurey Loeffler (Toronto)
Piers Rae (Vancouver)
Nathalie Younglai (Toronto)